Quick Links

Quick Links


School governors are members of their school's governing body, which is known as a 'corporate body'.

A corporate body has a legal identity that is separate from its members and as a result, individual governors are generally protected from personal liability as a result of the Governing Body's decisions and actions provided they act honestly, reasonably and in good faith.

Individual governors have no power or right to act on behalf of the Governing Body except where the whole Governing Body has delegated a specific function to that individual or where regulations specify a function is to be exercised in a particular way.

School governors are drawn from different parts of the community and can be parents and staff or from the LA, the community and other groups. This helps ensure the Governing Body has sufficient diversity of views and experience but does not mean governors of a particular category represent that group on the Governing Body. For example, parent governors do not represent the parents at the school and do not report back to them.



The Governing Body has a range of duties and powers and a general responsibility for the conduct of the school with a view to promoting high standards of educational achievement. Its responsibilities include but are not limited to:

  • setting targets for pupil achievement
  • managing the school's finances
  • making sure the curriculum is balanced and broadly based
  • appointing staff
  • reviewing staff performance and pay.


LA Governors     Co-opted Governors Staff Governors       Parent Governors

Mr Clive Willetts
Vice Chair of Governors

Mrs Sheila Webb

Mr Peter Boughton

Mr Tim Goddard
Mrs Ann Wyatt
Mrs Debbie Standring
Chair of Governors 

Miss Gemma Oakley


Mrs Naomi Hatchard
Mrs Clare Burch
Mrs Louise Plant

Mrs Nicky Wilson

Mrs Gill Read
Governor responsible for Safeguarding, Prevent and Looked After Children